College Football: The BCS may be in a mess

By James Pearce, WSOE Sports

WIth Cincinnati’s win yesterday, it looks like we are looking down a head-on collision with the BCS’s biggest nightmare.  Six 12-0 teams after week 17 (5 after the Florida/Alabama SEC title game).  While they pray for Texas to win the Big 12 and Florida and Alabama to stay undefeated going in to Atlanta, there are a lot of teams with a pretty big gripe about the current system. Everyone from players to President Barack Obama are calling for something new, be it a plus-one format, a 16-team playoff, or what have you. 

But that got me thinking.  What if we did it like boxing? What if you became the champion by beating the champion?  Probably not a great idea (maybe even the worst so far), but it’s fun to think about.  What would college football look like if we’d been doing this.  So, starting with Florida State’s title game win over Virginia Tech to start the year 2000, lets see what happens:

Note: “weeks” means in-season, playing weeks.  It only counts during the season.  A team shouldn’t get credit for being champion for the 32ish weeks when they don’t play a game.  Bye weeks also do not count, nor does the time between the regular season and bowls.

January 4 – October 9 2000: Florida State Seminoles (7 weeks)
October 9 2000- January 3 2003: Miami Hurricanes (31 weeks)
January 3 – October 11 2003: Ohio State Buckeyes (6 weeks)
October 11 – October 18 2003: Wisconsin Badgers (1 week)
October 18 – October 25 2003: Purdue Boilermakers (1 week)
October 25 2003 – January 1 2004: Michigan Wolverines (4 weeks)
January 1 2004 – January 4 2006: Southern Cal Trojans(26 weeks)
January 4 -September 9 2007: Texas Longhorns (2 weeks)
September 9 – January 8 2007: Ohio State Buckeyes (10 weeks)
January 8 – September 29 2007: Florida Gators (5 weeks)
September 29 – October 20 2007: Auburn Tigers (3 weeks)
October 20 – November 23 2007: LSU Tigers (4 weeks)
November 23 2007- January 1 2008: Arkansas Razorbacks (2 weeks)
January 1 – October 11 2008: Missouri Tigers (5 weeks)
October 11 – October 25 2008: Oklahoma State Cowboys (2 weeks)
October 25 – November 1 2008: Texas Longhorns (1 week)
November 1 – November 22: Texas Tech Red Raiders (2 weeks)
November 22 2008 – January 8 2009: Oklahoma Sooners (2 weeks)
January 8 2009 to present: Florida Gators (10 weeks and counting…)

That actually seems to work out pretty well.  In all but 2 seasons, the team that did win the true national championship held it in this model.  The exceptions are  Oklahoma in 2000 and LSU in 2004, both of which are considered controversial titles.  And in this system, even when the title strays on an odd path (ie Purdue, WIsconsin, Auburn, Missouri, Arkansas and Oklahoma State holding the title), it rights itself very quickly.

While a little odd, is it really that much kookier than what we have now?  Everyone plays 12 games against totally different opposition, and then we hand-pick the 2 best out of 120 and they get to play for the title.  C’mon.

Contact Information:
James Pearce
WSOE Sports


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: